The National Iris Convention will go ahead in October, 2014  and our sincere apologies to all the delegates who had registered  for 2013,only to be advised that the Convention was cancelled due to the Blue Mountains Bush Fires.


The National Australian Iris Convention will now take place from the 18th to the 22nd of October, 2014.

We are very pleased to announce that Thomas Johnson from Oregon, USA. will be attending our Convention as our International Guest Judge and Speaker

Thomas has been a USA winner of numerous Medals for many different classes of bearded Iris and has won the Premio Firenze in Italy on two occasions.

Look on the Web for Iris TB ‘Paul Black’ (Johnson 2002) and Iris TB ‘Morning Sunrise’ (Johnson 2005)

Registration Information is available by clicking on 2014 CONVENTION INFORMATION, download and send.

Hosted by the NSW Region
Saturday 18 – Thursday 23 October
Leura, NSW  2780

Saturday, 18th Oct.
Registration of guests at Waldorf Resort.
Visit  Scenic World, Katoomba: Scenic Skyway, Railway & Cableway.  Then visit 2014 Iris  Show Blackheath.  Followed by dinner with a guest speaker.

Sunday, 19th October
Visit Echo Point & Visitor Information Centre.  Evans Lookout, Spare time in Blackheath.
Demonstrations at Iris Show by leading iris experts.  Dinner at Waldorf Resort.

Monday, 20th October
Visit gardens of interest in the Leura area, including Everglades Gardens, buffet lunch at Everglades.  Dinner at own expense.

Tuesday, 21st October
Visit to the stunning Mayfield Garden (near Oberon), Chapel House at Rydal, Hillandale Garden and Nursery at Yetholme.
Dinner at Secret Creek, native animals can be viewed.

Wednesday, 22nd October
Bus to Bilpin to view 2 exceptional gardens.  Then onto Blue Mountains Botanic Garden, Mount Tomah. Whilst there view the Blue Mountains World Heritage Movie.  Visit The Bay Tree Nursery.  Farewell dinner at John and Carmel Niland’s garden in Mount Victoria, garden tour on arrival

Thursday, 23rd October
Breakfast.  Travelling Delegates depart this morning

Di Cox (NSW. President) ( 02-47842727)

Enquiries:  email CoOrdinator:










Woodgreen Garden

Blue Mountains Botanic Garden


Mt Victoria Gardens




Questions or problems regarding this web site should be directed to [].

Last modified: 16-08-2014 .